State Senator Rob Hogg endorses Miyoko

2 years ago · News
by C. J. Louis

Oh, happy day!  It is Friday again, and you know what that means! Yes, we do indeed have an endorsement to share! You can likely guess who it is from since we have been sharing this ice cream social fundraiser coming up all week, but we’ll say it anyway. This week’s #EndorsementFriday, we’re announcing that State Senator Rob Hogg has endorsed Miyoko’s run for Senate in District 20!

Senator Hogg had this to say,

I am proud to support Miyoko Hikiji for state senate in District 20 which includes Urbandale, Johnston, Grimes, and other neighboring parts of Polk County. Miyoko is a working mother and a veteran who understands we need state government to work effectively to support excellence in education (from preschool to college and job training), clean water and clean energy solutions, a higher minimum wage, and strong public health including mental health. Please mark your calendars now and plan to join us, along with Maridith Morris, candidate for state representative, for this ice cream social and fundraiser on Tuesday, July 5, from 6:00 to 8:00 p.m. at the Walker-Johnston Park Open Air Shelter, 9000 Douglas Avenue, in Urbandale. If you live in or near the district, I hope to see you there.

Thank you, Senator Hogg, for recognizing Miyoko’s commitment to Iowans!

hogg group pic


If you like this, help us share the good news and support the cause by giving $20 to our 20 for 20 fundraising campaign via ActBlue now!

Come out to our Ice Cream Social Fundraiser hosted by Sen. Rob Hogg on Tuesday, July 5th at Walker-Johnston Park in Urbandale at 6pm!

ice cream social




About Rob Hogg:

Rob Hogg is currently serving his third term as state senator for Senate District 33 in Cedar Rapids after two terms as a state representative in the Iowa House. First elected in 2002, he was re-elected to the Iowa House in 2004, ran successfully for the Iowa Senate in 2006, and was re-elected to the Iowa Senate in 2010 and 2014. In 2016, he ran for the United States Senate, finishing second in a four-way race in the Democratic primary to the nominee, former Lt. Gov. Patty Judge, with 37,680 votes, or 38.9%.


In the Iowa Legislature, Rob has served on the education, judiciary, public safety, natural resources, energy, environmental protection, appropriations, and ways and means committees. In 2009 and 2010, he served as chair of the Senate Rebuild Iowa Committee after the devastating floods and tornadoes of 2008. In 2013 and 2014, he served as chair of the Senate Judiciary Committee. Since January, 2015, he has served as chair of the Senate Government Oversight Committee.

In 2010, Rob helped form the Cedar River Watershed Coalition, a citizen-led effort to advocate for policies and practices to improve watershed and floodplain management to reduce future flood damage and improve water quality. The Coalition is committed to saying “never again” to the level of flood damage that occurred in 2008. Rob currently serves as co-chair of the Coalition.

Since 2011, Rob has helped coordinate an all-volunteer advocacy group called Iowa Climate Advocates working to educate the public about the dangers of climate change and advocating for climate action at all levels. Climate action means slowing down and stopping the buildup of greenhouse gas pollution in the atmosphere, and safeguarding people and their property from the effects of climate change.


In 2013, Rob released his book, America’s Climate Century: What Climate Change Means for America in the 21st Century and What Americans Can Do About It, which has helped people across the country understand the issue better and take action. This book is available from libraries across Iowa and from book retailers in Iowa and online retailers.

Some of the honors and awards Rob has received during his legislative service include:

  • Izaak Walton League, Iowa Division, Legislator of the Year, 2016
  • One Iowa, Sharon K. Malheiro Public Service Award, 2014
  • Iowa County Attorney Association, Iowa Justice Award, 2014
  • Iowa Fraternal Alliance, Legislator of the Year, 2013
  • Linn County Public Health, Public Health Champion, 2012
  • Iowa State Education Association, Friend of Education, 2011
  • Iowa Corrections Association, Outstanding Public Servant, 2010
  • Iowa Defense Counsel Association, Public Service Award, 2010
  • Iowa Chapter of the Sierra Club, Public Service Award, 2007
  • Older Iowans Legislature, Legislator of the Year, 2005
  • Iowa Farmers Union, Friend of Family Farmers, 2004